VIRGINIA DUI LAWS BY A VIRGINIA DUI LAWYER
There are many different DUI laws in Virginia. Before a DUI lawyer can defend a DUI in Virginia, it is critical to know and understand the different DUI laws in Virginia. The most commonly charge DUI violation in Virginia is Virginia Code 18.2-266.
If you have been charged with a DUI in Virginia and are seeking the help of an experienced Virginia DUI lawyer, contact the Law Offices of SRIS P.C. for help.
Our Virginia DUI Lawyers have the experience and knowledge to defend you against a DUI charge in Virginia.
Since the penalties associated with a DUI charge are so severe, it is critical to mount the strongest defense possible against a DUI charge.
The following are some of the DUI laws in Virginia:
- Virginia DUI Laws § 18.2-266. Driving motor vehicle, engine, etc., while intoxicated, etc.
- Virginia DUI Laws § 18.2-266.1. (Effective July 1, 2010) Persons under age 21 driving after illegally consuming alcohol; penalty.
- Virginia DUI Laws § 18.2-267. Preliminary analysis of breath to determine alcoholic content of blood.
- Virginia DUI Laws § 18.2-268.3. Refusal of tests; penalties; procedures.
- Virginia DUI Laws § 18.2-270. Penalty for driving while intoxicated; subsequent offense; prior conviction.
- Virginia DUI Laws § 18.2-271. Forfeiture of driver’s license for driving while intoxicated.
- Virginia DUI Laws § 18.2-272. Driving after forfeiture of license.
- § 18.2-268.9. Assurance of breath-test validity; use of breath-test results as evidence
DUI means driving under the influence. Many people think that driving under the influence is only for alcohol. They are wrong. Driving under the influence can be under any drug and not only alcohol. The driving under the influence laws in every state is different. The DUI laws in Virginia are strict, and the court imposes a maximum penalty if someone is driving under the influence. DUI and DWI offense has similar punishment in Virginia. You may go to jail for ten years if you face severe charges. Many people face charges of driving under the influence and DWI. Many people do not know what to do if they face such charges. They do not know that they have the option to plead not guilty for making such offense. Hiring a lawyer can help a lot. If you face such problems, you should know that a lawyer can help you reduce the charges against you. The court can suspend your license for driving under the influence. The lawyer will ensure that the court does not suspend your license. For that, you need to get help from an expert DUI or DWI Lawyer.
DUI is punishable by Virginia law
The state of Virginia decides the penalties and the punishments based on the record of the individual. If the individual commits an offense for the first time the punishment is not too harsh. If the individual does the crime second time, he may have to face some heavy charges. The punishments and the fine for the offense keep rising as the number of offense rises.
Same is the case with driving under the influence. The state of Virginia considers the first driving under the influence offense as a class 1 misdemeanor. You will have to pay a $250 fine which can be up to $2500 (but not the first time). If the court charges you with a second driving under the influence, the charges will increase. The second time you will have to pay a fine of $500. The court will also revoke you a license for three years. You may also go to jail for 20 days of one year. It depends on the BAC levels.
Getting help from a lawyer
No matter what charges you face. If it is the first driving under the influence offense for the second offense, you should always take help from a Lawyer. You do not know the laws, but the lawyer does. Having a lawyer at your side will be of great help. You cannot prepare the case or file a plea in the court alone. The lawyer will prepare all the paperwork and file the case in the court. He knows how to appeal to the court. Many times while handling the driving under the influence cases you may involve in an accident. In such cases, the penalties can increase, and you may go to jail. To prevent that from happening and to get the least possible penalty for a DUI or DWI offense, you need a lawyer.