According to the code of law in Virginia, crimes are classified into two different partitions, i.e., misdemeanor and felony. You can find different blogs and articles on what a felony offense is and how Misdemeanor and felony differentiate from each other, but here the mentioning of a felony is to develop your understanding. A felony offense is a person who has committed a severe, serious or sensitive crime on which he is generally heavily charged. On the other hand, a misdemeanor offense is a person who has committed minor, serious crimes or law abusing on which he is minimally charged by the law.
To know about what a Class 1 Misdemeanor in Virginia is, the code of law in Virginia has defined class 1 misdemeanor offense as most severe criminal offense among all of the other classes of a misdemeanor which is quite similar to that of the felonies offenses.
The penalty of Class 1 Misdemeanor
The penalty of class 1 misdemeanor offense in Virginia includes a year of jail time or a fine of $2,500 maximum or sometimes both of them. But, the penalty is normally decided based on seriousness and background of the offender and the case.
Examples of Class 1 Misdemeanor
There are different situations and consequences of every misdemeanor offense a person committed. There are several crimes listed under class 1 misdemeanor category in the code of Virginia. Realizing your thoughts about what is a class 1 misdemeanor offense in Virginia, here are some of the examples we have shortlisted for you;
1. Petit Larceny: a person would be charged as class 1 misdemeanor if he were found to be involved in theft or stealing of the property or goods worth under $200.
2. DUI: a person will be charged with class 1 misdemeanor if the alcohol content in the person’s blood is 0.8 % or more because of his driving under the influence of alcohol.
3. Assault or Battery: a person will be charged as class 1 misdemeanor if he is found to be engaged in harmful or intimidating behavior no matter it is physical, emotional, sexual, or economical assault or battery with anyone in the surrounding.
4. Domestic Assault: a person will be charged as class 1 misdemeanor if he has been involved in domestic violence or relevant actions.
5. Reckless Driving: a person can be sentenced to one-year jail or fine of $2500 being the class 1 misdemeanor if he drives at a speed of more than 20 miles per hour.
We hope you find this article helpful and interesting while understanding the fundamental concept, penalties, and consequences of Class 1 misdemeanor.